Questions about Adwords Display network.
-
I am starting up an Adwords campaign that is set to run in the Display (content) network only. In the past I have meshed search and content together, but after reading Brad Geddes book I see that I need to separate them.
I can't see my quality score for my keywords - it just has a dash in place of QS. Is this normal?
Additionally, I can't see how much I am paying per keyword.
I only have one text ad and it is still pending approval. I have several image ads that have so far had a good CTR.
I'm assuming that I can't see QS because my text ad is not running yet. But, if this is the case, then how do you optimize your campaign for image ads? I'm currently paying about 45 cents per click. (Previously when I had a poorly optimized quickly thrown together campaign I was paying twice that), but I believe that I could get this down significantly.
Any help is greatly appreciated!
You guys rock!
-
I would like to add to this discussion that although you may not see Quality Score on the Display side, it doesn't mean that it is not a factor for Display. However Quality Score on the Display Network is different than QS for Search.
-
This is not always the case it depends on ctr and price per click - you should experiment both ways to see what works best for you.
-Also if you are running on the content network be sure to negative out the sites you don't want to show up for or use placements (you can also not show on parked pages, below the fold , Adult sites etc)
-
Interesting...I'm going to look into this!
-
I would highly suggest using CPM (cost per thousand impression) pricing structure for your content network campaigns. You can get a lot more bang for your buck than paying per click.
For example lets assume you get 1000 impressions with only a 3% CTR. This means you have around 30 clicks for $0.45 a piece, which means your total cost is $13.50.
If you would have instead setup your campaign to bid $1.50 per/thousand impressions you could have saved $12 dollars. Then taking it another step further, what if you have a CTR of 5%? you still only pay the $1.50 even though you are receiving more clicks.
As you can tell these are just made up figures and I understand each case is different, but i would definitely suggest looking into it. From my experience i have never paid more than $1.50 per thousand impressions (and that was for the keyword "stimulus reimbursement" during the health care reform bill craziness).
-
If your campaigns mirror your search campaigns, use what you are learning from search with regards to keyword negatives to influence the management of the content campaign. Also take a look at the "Networks" tab - so you can better control the campaign.
-
Geoff is correct; Adwords analyzes your ad group's keyword list when matching your keyword-targeted ads to the display network, thus no Keyword QS for Display. You will want to make sure that your keywords that you are using for Display are very related to each other and you are only using about 5 - 15 keywords per ad group, this will help to make sure your ads are appearing on relevant sites. If you are new to PPC I would highly recommend David Szetela book PPC an hour a Day. http://www.amazon.com/Pay-Click-Search-Engine-Marketing/dp/0470488670
This will walk you through all the current best strategies from the basics of setting up campaigns to more aggressive bid strategies. He also has another book that focus just on the best practices for Display advertising: http://www.amazon.com/Customers-Now-Profiting-Content-Based-Advertising/dp/1440170991/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1264017599&sr=8-2
These are some great resources to have in your toolbox to refer back to when you run into questions.
Good Luck
-
Interesting...so can such a campaign be optimized so that you pay less per click? Or is it all about overall CTR?
-
With the display network, Adwords analyzes your ad group's entire keyword list when matching your keyword-targeted ad to a Display Network page. This means the keyword doesn't get attributed QS or clicks.
Got a burning SEO question?
Subscribe to Moz Pro to gain full access to Q&A, answer questions, and ask your own.
Browse Questions
Explore more categories
-
Moz Tools
Chat with the community about the Moz tools.
-
SEO Tactics
Discuss the SEO process with fellow marketers
-
Community
Discuss industry events, jobs, and news!
-
Digital Marketing
Chat about tactics outside of SEO
-
Research & Trends
Dive into research and trends in the search industry.
-
Support
Connect on product support and feature requests.
Related Questions
-
When to switch off AdWords ads in your channel mix?
My question is actually Inspired by that very good article: https://moz.com/blog/google-organic-clicks-shifting-to-paid that I read this morning. Present situation: For a specific and valuable non-branded keyword combination (2-3 words) we rank: Google Adwords: position 1 Local Pack (with maps): position 1 Organic Search: position 3-5, lately more 5-6 Question?: Is it still worth having AdWords ads or not there? How to evaluate if we could do without AdWords? Any algorithm, experiment, thought that would help find out? We know our average cost per lead for the different channels. Just to leave away AdWords ads for a certain time is not really an option nor would that statistically mean anything, i.e. if we skip AdWords and have the same number of leads after that and compare it with the months before (with AdWords) that could also be due to other reasons (seasonal aspects, etc.). Put in other words: if we skip AdWords people would still click (more) on our other two search results (local & organic). I am not sure if the additional leads coming from AdWords outweigh the cost we have for that. Would love to know your thoughts about that. Thanks a lot for your input in advance. Cheers, Cesare
Paid Search Marketing | | Cesare.Marchetti0 -
Have you had success using adwords to promote blog content?
From time to time I see an ad pop up in search results for blog content and have often wondered how much success these ads have had in promoting the specific post. Does anyone have experience with this? What results did you see?
Paid Search Marketing | | unikey0 -
Adwords Bidding
I'm just reaching out to get some help with regards to Adwords bidding. I find we are great at comprehensively setting up a campaign but struggle to know exactly what to do regarding setting the bid at the right amount for a keyword. Our current strategy is to maximise Impression share for keywords and therefore we generally look to endeavour to adjust bids to maximize this metric. Is there are good process to use for Adwords bidding or something someone can direct me to in order to uncover the things to consider when adjusting this bidding amount?
Paid Search Marketing | | Gavo0 -
World Localities in AdWords?
If I target the topic "World Localities>San Antonio", what type of sites my ads will be display? Are they sites about San Antonio, like tourism guides or event listings? Or are they related to San Antonio, like a university or flower shop in San Antonio?
Paid Search Marketing | | howlusa0 -
PPC question for the experts
I know this is paid search but since Moz had a section for it, I thought it would be ok to ask. 🙂 According to: http://support.google.com/adwords/answer/2497836?hl=en Broad match modifier +tennis +shoes Ads may show on searches for tennis shoes
Paid Search Marketing | | MattAntonino
buy tennis shoes
best shoes for tennis Ads won't show on searches for running shoes
tennis sneakers I'm using (for a client) +wedding +photographer. It should show on wedding photographer hire a wedding photographer best wedding photographer in dallas It should not show on photographer in Dallas become a photographer dallas pictures But it is. Why would this happen? Isn't that exactly what it says it won't show up on? Also, Google writes: Don't leave space between the plus sign (+) prefix and the word you're modifying! •Correct: +leather +shoes
•Incorrect: + leather + shoes
•Incorrect: +leather+shoes Yet the client was told by Google the opposite. "I spoke with Google and they confirmed that the space after the plus and before wedding (“+ wedding”) would notrequire “wedding” to show up." How on Earth does this reconcile or make ANY sense? ETA: This is fairly clear to me: Be sure there are no spaces between the + and modified words, but do leave spaces between words. The right way to do it: +formal +shoes. The wrong way to do it: +formal+shoes. http://www.google.com/ads/innovations/bmm.html0 -
Google Adwords Conversion Tracking Code Help - Not Showing Conversions
Hi, all. I am having issues with a clients website. They have their website developed by a company http://www.flowerstoreinabox.com.au/ my clients website is http://www.flawlessflowers.com.au the google adwords conversion tracking code has been added to their site. It measures all details as far as ads clicked on, etc.. the only part that is not been measured is the conversions of the adwords campaign. So I cannot see if the ads are successful or what their conversion % is. I have looked at the code on the thank you page and the google adwords conversion code is present on the thank you page after the sale. I am not a coder and so not sure what to look at if all the details on the checkout page exist in the code to measure the adwords conversion ecommerce transactions correctly. I have provided a link to the source code of the competed order page. If someone could look at the code and provide any assistance I would appreciate it. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/16973368/7 may adwords flawless flowers.txt I am also happy to provide you access to the google analytics account if required just give me your email address to set it up. Thanks for all your help Regards Arthur
Paid Search Marketing | | VivaArturo0 -
PPC Question
After watching today's excellent WBF by Brian on Adwords, I still have a question. At one point do you believe a PPC keyword or adgroup has enough data to make a decision. Brian mentioned 30,000 impressions. I've heard 200 clicks. Is there a concensus or set of rules anyone could recommend as a guideline. I do PPC but it's not a daily focus, and find myself vacillating, and frankly, probably wasting time and money by not having a more defined approach to PPC.
Paid Search Marketing | | DenverKelly0 -
Tweaking Adwords
Hi, I want to understand how one can tweak adwords and make first line long. I am showing the example as attachment. Please check and guide. Is this ethical ? Regards, Preet adwords.jpg
Paid Search Marketing | | PreetSibia0