Questions about Adwords Display network.
-
I am starting up an Adwords campaign that is set to run in the Display (content) network only. In the past I have meshed search and content together, but after reading Brad Geddes book I see that I need to separate them.
I can't see my quality score for my keywords - it just has a dash in place of QS. Is this normal?
Additionally, I can't see how much I am paying per keyword.
I only have one text ad and it is still pending approval. I have several image ads that have so far had a good CTR.
I'm assuming that I can't see QS because my text ad is not running yet. But, if this is the case, then how do you optimize your campaign for image ads? I'm currently paying about 45 cents per click. (Previously when I had a poorly optimized quickly thrown together campaign I was paying twice that), but I believe that I could get this down significantly.
Any help is greatly appreciated!
You guys rock!
-
I would like to add to this discussion that although you may not see Quality Score on the Display side, it doesn't mean that it is not a factor for Display. However Quality Score on the Display Network is different than QS for Search.
-
This is not always the case it depends on ctr and price per click - you should experiment both ways to see what works best for you.
-Also if you are running on the content network be sure to negative out the sites you don't want to show up for or use placements (you can also not show on parked pages, below the fold , Adult sites etc)
-
Interesting...I'm going to look into this!
-
I would highly suggest using CPM (cost per thousand impression) pricing structure for your content network campaigns. You can get a lot more bang for your buck than paying per click.
For example lets assume you get 1000 impressions with only a 3% CTR. This means you have around 30 clicks for $0.45 a piece, which means your total cost is $13.50.
If you would have instead setup your campaign to bid $1.50 per/thousand impressions you could have saved $12 dollars. Then taking it another step further, what if you have a CTR of 5%? you still only pay the $1.50 even though you are receiving more clicks.
As you can tell these are just made up figures and I understand each case is different, but i would definitely suggest looking into it. From my experience i have never paid more than $1.50 per thousand impressions (and that was for the keyword "stimulus reimbursement" during the health care reform bill craziness).
-
If your campaigns mirror your search campaigns, use what you are learning from search with regards to keyword negatives to influence the management of the content campaign. Also take a look at the "Networks" tab - so you can better control the campaign.
-
Geoff is correct; Adwords analyzes your ad group's keyword list when matching your keyword-targeted ads to the display network, thus no Keyword QS for Display. You will want to make sure that your keywords that you are using for Display are very related to each other and you are only using about 5 - 15 keywords per ad group, this will help to make sure your ads are appearing on relevant sites. If you are new to PPC I would highly recommend David Szetela book PPC an hour a Day. http://www.amazon.com/Pay-Click-Search-Engine-Marketing/dp/0470488670
This will walk you through all the current best strategies from the basics of setting up campaigns to more aggressive bid strategies. He also has another book that focus just on the best practices for Display advertising: http://www.amazon.com/Customers-Now-Profiting-Content-Based-Advertising/dp/1440170991/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1264017599&sr=8-2
These are some great resources to have in your toolbox to refer back to when you run into questions.
Good Luck
-
Interesting...so can such a campaign be optimized so that you pay less per click? Or is it all about overall CTR?
-
With the display network, Adwords analyzes your ad group's entire keyword list when matching your keyword-targeted ad to a Display Network page. This means the keyword doesn't get attributed QS or clicks.
Got a burning SEO question?
Subscribe to Moz Pro to gain full access to Q&A, answer questions, and ask your own.
Browse Questions
Explore more categories
-
Moz Tools
Chat with the community about the Moz tools.
-
SEO Tactics
Discuss the SEO process with fellow marketers
-
Community
Discuss industry events, jobs, and news!
-
Digital Marketing
Chat about tactics outside of SEO
-
Research & Trends
Dive into research and trends in the search industry.
-
Support
Connect on product support and feature requests.
Related Questions
-
Approximate costs of keywords in Google AdWords
Just wondering if anyone has any suggestions about how to go about getting some approximate costs for keywords through Google Adwords to assist my SEO efforts. I don't want to open an AdWords account, just looking for costs. If the pricing is too high then the opened account was a waste of time. So if anyone has any resources to find out this information, that would be great! Thanks in advance!
Paid Search Marketing | | MainstreamMktg0 -
Adwords Expanded Text Ads - How are they working for you?
I think it would be nice to get a consensus from more people. The day expanded text ads came out last week, I immediately jumped on it and created them for all my campaigns. I still left some of the old ads running in each ad group so that I could compare. Looking at the conversion data from the last week, the conversion rates are between 2-7x lower on the expanded text ads, and as a result, the cost per conversion is 2-5x higher as well. Basically, they're performing horribly. The click-through rate is mildly higher, but who cares if they're not converting? I know it's only a week's worth of data, but it seems the difference is enough to be statistically significant. I'm wording what everyone else's experience has been.
Paid Search Marketing | | UnderRugSwept0 -
Adwords Bidding
I'm just reaching out to get some help with regards to Adwords bidding. I find we are great at comprehensively setting up a campaign but struggle to know exactly what to do regarding setting the bid at the right amount for a keyword. Our current strategy is to maximise Impression share for keywords and therefore we generally look to endeavour to adjust bids to maximize this metric. Is there are good process to use for Adwords bidding or something someone can direct me to in order to uncover the things to consider when adjusting this bidding amount?
Paid Search Marketing | | Gavo0 -
Set-up remarketing through Analytics or Adwords?
I am setting up a remarketing campaign and wonder if anyone has any thoughts on whether to do this via Analytics or Adwords? Doing it through Analytics appears to be more straight forward - and I like the idea of broadening the data set that comes from an Analytics report. I therefore I wonder if it comes down to personal preference? Would be grateful to any thoughts for or against.
Paid Search Marketing | | E2E0 -
Adwords Express Placement and Explanation
I spoke with the adwords express rep about this, and he was extremely vague and unhelpful. So, I'd appreciate some assistance...even though it's a lot of questions. Whatever insights you can share to any portion of this, i would greatly appreciate. We setup an adwords express account, and we set our budget $50 over what Adwodrds Express says was our competitors average range. However, our ads only show up on the bottom right side of page 2. We are trying to figure out why that is? Are adwords express accounts only placed on the lower tier of PPC by definition? Will they always be on the bottom of a sidebar on the second page? Does it depend on how much we are willing to pay a month? So, if we double what we are willing to pay per month, will the ad move up? Also, it's not clear to me at all, how much we are being charged per click or how we are being billed. How are they determining what each click costs? Happy Friday and thanks in advance, Ruben
Paid Search Marketing | | KempRugeLawGroup0 -
Google Analytics showing my Adwords campaign bounce rate at 0%
I am relatively new to Adwords, and I can't figure out why the Adwords section of Analytics is showing all my site visitors at 0% bounce rate. Does that mean the account connection is not done right? Obviously Google ads are not a 0% bounce rate. If I can't get that to work, does anyone know how Google ads appear in Traffic? Is it Direct or Referral? I'm sure there's some simple answer I'm just not aware of, I would appreciate anyone's help. Thanks!
Paid Search Marketing | | Crystalline_150 -
Adwords coupons
I have a bunch of $300 free adwords spend coupons (must spend $100 & only new accounts) . If any body wants to become more of a t-marketer and play with ppc , Just comment in the post. I would also love to hear how people are using t-marketing to enhance seo.
Paid Search Marketing | | DavidKonigsberg0 -
Is there any correlation between the on-page factors being complete in moz and having a good quality score in Adwords?
I've been optimizing the website for a few keywords we're targeting and I'm looking to improve the quality score for my Adwords landing pages. My on-page scoring is great, but my scores in Adwords are low. Ideas?
Paid Search Marketing | | Bombbomb0