Questions about Adwords Display network.
-
I am starting up an Adwords campaign that is set to run in the Display (content) network only. In the past I have meshed search and content together, but after reading Brad Geddes book I see that I need to separate them.
I can't see my quality score for my keywords - it just has a dash in place of QS. Is this normal?
Additionally, I can't see how much I am paying per keyword.
I only have one text ad and it is still pending approval. I have several image ads that have so far had a good CTR.
I'm assuming that I can't see QS because my text ad is not running yet. But, if this is the case, then how do you optimize your campaign for image ads? I'm currently paying about 45 cents per click. (Previously when I had a poorly optimized quickly thrown together campaign I was paying twice that), but I believe that I could get this down significantly.
Any help is greatly appreciated!
You guys rock!
-
I would like to add to this discussion that although you may not see Quality Score on the Display side, it doesn't mean that it is not a factor for Display. However Quality Score on the Display Network is different than QS for Search.
-
This is not always the case it depends on ctr and price per click - you should experiment both ways to see what works best for you.
-Also if you are running on the content network be sure to negative out the sites you don't want to show up for or use placements (you can also not show on parked pages, below the fold , Adult sites etc)
-
Interesting...I'm going to look into this!
-
I would highly suggest using CPM (cost per thousand impression) pricing structure for your content network campaigns. You can get a lot more bang for your buck than paying per click.
For example lets assume you get 1000 impressions with only a 3% CTR. This means you have around 30 clicks for $0.45 a piece, which means your total cost is $13.50.
If you would have instead setup your campaign to bid $1.50 per/thousand impressions you could have saved $12 dollars. Then taking it another step further, what if you have a CTR of 5%? you still only pay the $1.50 even though you are receiving more clicks.
As you can tell these are just made up figures and I understand each case is different, but i would definitely suggest looking into it. From my experience i have never paid more than $1.50 per thousand impressions (and that was for the keyword "stimulus reimbursement" during the health care reform bill craziness).
-
If your campaigns mirror your search campaigns, use what you are learning from search with regards to keyword negatives to influence the management of the content campaign. Also take a look at the "Networks" tab - so you can better control the campaign.
-
Geoff is correct; Adwords analyzes your ad group's keyword list when matching your keyword-targeted ads to the display network, thus no Keyword QS for Display. You will want to make sure that your keywords that you are using for Display are very related to each other and you are only using about 5 - 15 keywords per ad group, this will help to make sure your ads are appearing on relevant sites. If you are new to PPC I would highly recommend David Szetela book PPC an hour a Day. http://www.amazon.com/Pay-Click-Search-Engine-Marketing/dp/0470488670
This will walk you through all the current best strategies from the basics of setting up campaigns to more aggressive bid strategies. He also has another book that focus just on the best practices for Display advertising: http://www.amazon.com/Customers-Now-Profiting-Content-Based-Advertising/dp/1440170991/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1264017599&sr=8-2
These are some great resources to have in your toolbox to refer back to when you run into questions.
Good Luck
-
Interesting...so can such a campaign be optimized so that you pay less per click? Or is it all about overall CTR?
-
With the display network, Adwords analyzes your ad group's entire keyword list when matching your keyword-targeted ad to a Display Network page. This means the keyword doesn't get attributed QS or clicks.
Got a burning SEO question?
Subscribe to Moz Pro to gain full access to Q&A, answer questions, and ask your own.
Browse Questions
Explore more categories
-
Moz Tools
Chat with the community about the Moz tools.
-
SEO Tactics
Discuss the SEO process with fellow marketers
-
Community
Discuss industry events, jobs, and news!
-
Digital Marketing
Chat about tactics outside of SEO
-
Research & Trends
Dive into research and trends in the search industry.
-
Support
Connect on product support and feature requests.
Related Questions
-
Adwords Bidding
I'm just reaching out to get some help with regards to Adwords bidding. I find we are great at comprehensively setting up a campaign but struggle to know exactly what to do regarding setting the bid at the right amount for a keyword. Our current strategy is to maximise Impression share for keywords and therefore we generally look to endeavour to adjust bids to maximize this metric. Is there are good process to use for Adwords bidding or something someone can direct me to in order to uncover the things to consider when adjusting this bidding amount?
Paid Search Marketing | | Gavo0 -
What is the best way to update Adwords final URLs if I'm moving to a new CMS?
Hi there - One of my clients is redeveloping its website. That means, the domain is remaining the same, but the whole site is being rebuilt in wordpress so all the adwords final URLs need to change OR be redirected. There are 550 live adgroups and 3400 ads. We haven't set up tracking. I can't find anywhere what the best thing to do is in this case. The key issues seem to be: 1. 301 redirects - given we have to do these anyway as part of migration, this seems to be the easiest path as Google is ok about redirects as long as they don't go to a different domain. From what I'm hearing, you don't get adversely impacted in terms of quality score etc. This has the huge advantage that you don't have to edit the ad therefore no loss of statistical history or risk of downtime whilst you wait for approval. HOWEVER, there is some concern that if you then redirected again IN THE FUTURE, the redirect might not work (in some browsers) or cause a loop. I'm also concerned that it's messy to leave it like that (ie: with the wrong URLs throughout). 2. Buik updating ads - I don't think this is an option as if you bulk download and then reupload, Google will see this as a new ad, and delete all the statistical history - I'm also concerned that that WOULD impact quality score as you'd be starting from scratch! 3. Changing each ad individually - as far as I understand you'd have to create copies of all the ads (so that you keep the history of the old ones) and effectively create new ones with the correct URL - one by one. You end up with a messy account (a lot of paused ads) but you keep the history? This is obviously the most time consuming and I can't see a way of avoiding ads having to go in for approval again, given the urls are all different, so you'd have to do this a an ad level, not an adgroup/campaign level etc. People redevelop their websites (without changing domains) all the time. It seems strange that no one is mentioning this problem! Any ideas?! Many thanks
Paid Search Marketing | | catalystmdc0 -
Content discovery networks legal ?
Content discovery networks legal ? I heard about Outbrain is it Ok in eyes of Google to get traffic from these sites and pages that have adsense? Thank you
Paid Search Marketing | | bsharath0 -
Adwords linking to analytics
Hi there if i have my adwords for a website of mine on a different account to the one i use for google analytics on it, is there anyway to import the data? currently it will only let me link the adwords data in the analytics account if it is on the same Google account - is there a way to give permission for the data from another Google account?
Paid Search Marketing | | tdigital0 -
How Can I Target Certain Countries in Google AdWords without Excluding Other Countries?
So, here is the situation: Our company works with merchants worldwide (with the exception of those who live in excluded high-risk countries--mostly in Africa), but most of our Google AdWords leads come from Indian merchants. My CEO wants our campaigns to convert leads from other countries (i.e., the UK, Germany, US, Canada, Australia, etc.), but I have no idea how to do that without excluding India. However, my CEO does not want to exclude India from our AdWords campaigns as the leads are profitable. We simply want more diversity with out leads in terms of geographic location. I am sure there are resources on the Web about how to do this, but I am not an Adwords expert and am unsure of what phrases to search to find the answers. Direct advice or helpful links are much appreciated. Regards,
Paid Search Marketing | | Instabill
Meghan0 -
Bad Adwords Leads and B2B Placement Ideas
Hello, I have two PPC related questions that hopefully someone could help with. My client complains that the majority of leads he is getting are disqualified - mainly due to fake contact info left on the landing page. This happens both in the Display and Search campaigns. We are getting a good number of leads and we checked with Google that there is no fraud involved. What can be done about this? Has anyone encountered that kind of complaint and how did you deal with it? Can you recommend any tools, other than Google's Ad Planner to find good placements for a display campaign? Another client of mine is selling B2B services such as document destruction etc. Where can I find, for example, a list of placements frequented by people from the insurance business? I never had a problem finding placements for B2C but B2B seems to be a lot different. Any insight will be greatly appreciated! Thanks, Michal
Paid Search Marketing | | michalseo0 -
Graph ad groups by cost in Adwords
Easy one for someone I'm sure, but I can't figure it out. In Adwords under campaigns "Widget" I have ad groups "Blue", "Green" and "Red" each with 3 ads in them. How can I produce a compared report on cost per day of each ad group. So I want something that looks like 1st 2nd 3rd ...
Paid Search Marketing | | StalkerB
Blue £12 £14 £9 ...
Green £8 £11 £5 ...
Red £9 £22 £16 ... Possible?0 -
Your Google AdWords account has been permanently suspended for repeated violation of AdWords or Landing Page and Site policies in this or a related account.
My client nor I received any warning. We even had a google adwords team optimize the account and my rep does not yet know the reason for the ban. Not sure if its related but their google organic rankings dropped significantly at the same time. https://adwords.google.com/support/aw/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=164786 Any advice here? Do these Questions get indexed by google? I will ask my client if I can disclose the domain. Is there any way around a permanent ban? They were spending 50K per month. Is this enough to have any clout?
Paid Search Marketing | | webbroi0