Questions about Adwords Display network.
-
I am starting up an Adwords campaign that is set to run in the Display (content) network only. In the past I have meshed search and content together, but after reading Brad Geddes book I see that I need to separate them.
I can't see my quality score for my keywords - it just has a dash in place of QS. Is this normal?
Additionally, I can't see how much I am paying per keyword.
I only have one text ad and it is still pending approval. I have several image ads that have so far had a good CTR.
I'm assuming that I can't see QS because my text ad is not running yet. But, if this is the case, then how do you optimize your campaign for image ads? I'm currently paying about 45 cents per click. (Previously when I had a poorly optimized quickly thrown together campaign I was paying twice that), but I believe that I could get this down significantly.
Any help is greatly appreciated!
You guys rock!
-
I would like to add to this discussion that although you may not see Quality Score on the Display side, it doesn't mean that it is not a factor for Display. However Quality Score on the Display Network is different than QS for Search.
-
This is not always the case it depends on ctr and price per click - you should experiment both ways to see what works best for you.
-Also if you are running on the content network be sure to negative out the sites you don't want to show up for or use placements (you can also not show on parked pages, below the fold , Adult sites etc)
-
Interesting...I'm going to look into this!
-
I would highly suggest using CPM (cost per thousand impression) pricing structure for your content network campaigns. You can get a lot more bang for your buck than paying per click.
For example lets assume you get 1000 impressions with only a 3% CTR. This means you have around 30 clicks for $0.45 a piece, which means your total cost is $13.50.
If you would have instead setup your campaign to bid $1.50 per/thousand impressions you could have saved $12 dollars. Then taking it another step further, what if you have a CTR of 5%? you still only pay the $1.50 even though you are receiving more clicks.
As you can tell these are just made up figures and I understand each case is different, but i would definitely suggest looking into it. From my experience i have never paid more than $1.50 per thousand impressions (and that was for the keyword "stimulus reimbursement" during the health care reform bill craziness).
-
If your campaigns mirror your search campaigns, use what you are learning from search with regards to keyword negatives to influence the management of the content campaign. Also take a look at the "Networks" tab - so you can better control the campaign.
-
Geoff is correct; Adwords analyzes your ad group's keyword list when matching your keyword-targeted ads to the display network, thus no Keyword QS for Display. You will want to make sure that your keywords that you are using for Display are very related to each other and you are only using about 5 - 15 keywords per ad group, this will help to make sure your ads are appearing on relevant sites. If you are new to PPC I would highly recommend David Szetela book PPC an hour a Day. http://www.amazon.com/Pay-Click-Search-Engine-Marketing/dp/0470488670
This will walk you through all the current best strategies from the basics of setting up campaigns to more aggressive bid strategies. He also has another book that focus just on the best practices for Display advertising: http://www.amazon.com/Customers-Now-Profiting-Content-Based-Advertising/dp/1440170991/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1264017599&sr=8-2
These are some great resources to have in your toolbox to refer back to when you run into questions.
Good Luck
-
Interesting...so can such a campaign be optimized so that you pay less per click? Or is it all about overall CTR?
-
With the display network, Adwords analyzes your ad group's entire keyword list when matching your keyword-targeted ad to a Display Network page. This means the keyword doesn't get attributed QS or clicks.
Got a burning SEO question?
Subscribe to Moz Pro to gain full access to Q&A, answer questions, and ask your own.
Browse Questions
Explore more categories
-
Moz Tools
Chat with the community about the Moz tools.
-
SEO Tactics
Discuss the SEO process with fellow marketers
-
Community
Discuss industry events, jobs, and news!
-
Digital Marketing
Chat about tactics outside of SEO
-
Research & Trends
Dive into research and trends in the search industry.
-
Support
Connect on product support and feature requests.
Related Questions
-
Adding AdWords Remarketing Pixel to "Partner" Domains?
I have read through the AdWords advertising policies, but there isn't an extremely clear answer to my question: does it break AdWords policy to include a remarketing pixel on a partner website? Example - I own and run 123boats.com, my acquaintance who owns abchotels.com has agreed to put my remarketing pixel on his website, and I plan to show remarketing ads to his website visitors advertising my services at 123boats.com. Is anyone aware of any documentation that explicitly allows or disallows this type of "partner" remarketing tracking?
Paid Search Marketing | | marymerritt0 -
Is there way to have several AdWords Ad for the same keyphrase?
Hi guys. Can I have 2-3-4 ads come up for the same keyphrase? The situation is: I'm bidding for client's company name, there is no other competition (nobody else bids for client's company name), I'm bidding only for exact match and phrase match. Is there way to have, let's say 4 ads come up when somebody searches for exact matched company name? P.S. I know it's weird question, all this is done under reputation management for this company, I'm trying to occupy as much space at the top of the 1st SERPs, so people don't see ROR article in organic position #4. If you have other suggestions - please feel free to put it here. (SEO is being done, not-index pages are being optimized to try to come up as several organic results, backlink building is in process, Social media profiles are being optimized as well). I'm just trying to have some temporary "fix".
Paid Search Marketing | | DmitriiK0 -
CPC of Adwords Remarketing for Search (RLSA)
When a previous visitor to your site clicks on an RLSA ad, is the cost per click the same as if you were bidding on that same Keyword for a new visitor?
Paid Search Marketing | | richdan0 -
How do I print off Google Adwords Certification certificate through Google Partners?
Hey everyone, How do I print off Google Adwords Certification certificate through Google Partners?
Paid Search Marketing | | jhinchcliffe1 -
Can I pass keyword match type through the Adwords dest URL?
Hi guys, I'm currently using duplicates of the same keyword with different match types, and I'd like to pass the keyword match type through the query, the same way I can pass the keyword and creative. ie. http://my.site.com/?kw={keyword}&kwmt={matchtype}&aid={creative} As far as I can tell, Google allows you to pass the keyword, creative (ad id), network and a mobile flag. Microsoft allows you to pass the match type and and ad id, and I want to be able to do the same in my Adwords. Is this is possible, or is the only way to create different ad groups for each match type and pass a custom query? Cheers, Jez
Paid Search Marketing | | jez0000 -
Whoa! Newsletter Subscription Form in Adwords Ad??? How can I do this?
I just googled the term "Mobile Lead Gen" and found this ad: http://cl.ly/260X3f0t1z1j1R1m212d Sweet! It has the subscription form signup directly within the Google Ad. Looks like Chrome even pre-populated my email address in the form. Does anyone know how to set this up within Adwords? I've never seen that option before. wXOGJ
Paid Search Marketing | | shawn810 -
Downtrodden Adwords Quality Scores -- Really?
Wow! 93% of our Adword keywords in our new campaign received a Quality Score of 4 or less. That means most of the keywords aren't showing. I received the quick answer from our Adwords advisor that, "Quality score is created from a variety of factors ... etc." Yes, I know that by reading Google's documentation. I dug deeper into the data. When I looked at keywords dashboard for this campaign, what vexes me is that it's all about "Keyword relevance: poor". That is repeated time and again in the keywords hover, bubble pop-up in Adwords. "Landing page quality: no problems". "Landing page load time: no problems". 63% of keywords have quality score = 3 29% of keywords have quality score = 4 We have thousands of keywords that are electronic part numbers. All keywords use phrase matching. We use dynamic keyword matching in the ads. I dug deeper. I chose random keywords (and corresponding landing pages) from lower quality scores (1,2,3,4) and higher scores (5,6,7,8,9,10). What is the difference? Examples: Quality score 1 = http://www.usbid.com/parts/LM2901 2 = http://www.usbid.com/parts/BZX84-A20 3 = http://www.usbid.com/parts/MAX4796 4 = http://www.usbid.com/parts/TMP302A 5 = http://www.usbid.com/parts/LTC4267-3 6 = http://www.usbid.com/parts/CAT1161LI-28-G 7 = http://www.usbid.com/parts/DS1216C 8 = http://www.usbid.com/parts/R10S-E1Y1-J5.0K 9 = http://www.usbid.com/parts/208M822-19B11 145785-000 10 = http://www.usbid.com/parts/TP3-PNEU-0.250 243362-000 Notice URLs with score 9 and 10 have url-encoded space (%20) -- just pointing it out. What is the difference between these pages that have such different quality score? And, interestingly enough, the majority of example keywords in the Urls above (LM2901, BZX84-A20, etc) have zero impressions and zero clicks thus far. Yes, the keywords have low traffic because this is exactly what people search for an purchase when making a B2B component buy. It's all about the exact part number. **I'd love specific suggestions of how to improve quality score of pages with a 3 or lower! ** Thanks kindly, Loren
Paid Search Marketing | | groovykarma0