Questions about Adwords Display network.
-
I am starting up an Adwords campaign that is set to run in the Display (content) network only. In the past I have meshed search and content together, but after reading Brad Geddes book I see that I need to separate them.
I can't see my quality score for my keywords - it just has a dash in place of QS. Is this normal?
Additionally, I can't see how much I am paying per keyword.
I only have one text ad and it is still pending approval. I have several image ads that have so far had a good CTR.
I'm assuming that I can't see QS because my text ad is not running yet. But, if this is the case, then how do you optimize your campaign for image ads? I'm currently paying about 45 cents per click. (Previously when I had a poorly optimized quickly thrown together campaign I was paying twice that), but I believe that I could get this down significantly.
Any help is greatly appreciated!
You guys rock!
-
I would like to add to this discussion that although you may not see Quality Score on the Display side, it doesn't mean that it is not a factor for Display. However Quality Score on the Display Network is different than QS for Search.
-
This is not always the case it depends on ctr and price per click - you should experiment both ways to see what works best for you.
-Also if you are running on the content network be sure to negative out the sites you don't want to show up for or use placements (you can also not show on parked pages, below the fold , Adult sites etc)
-
Interesting...I'm going to look into this!
-
I would highly suggest using CPM (cost per thousand impression) pricing structure for your content network campaigns. You can get a lot more bang for your buck than paying per click.
For example lets assume you get 1000 impressions with only a 3% CTR. This means you have around 30 clicks for $0.45 a piece, which means your total cost is $13.50.
If you would have instead setup your campaign to bid $1.50 per/thousand impressions you could have saved $12 dollars. Then taking it another step further, what if you have a CTR of 5%? you still only pay the $1.50 even though you are receiving more clicks.
As you can tell these are just made up figures and I understand each case is different, but i would definitely suggest looking into it. From my experience i have never paid more than $1.50 per thousand impressions (and that was for the keyword "stimulus reimbursement" during the health care reform bill craziness).
-
If your campaigns mirror your search campaigns, use what you are learning from search with regards to keyword negatives to influence the management of the content campaign. Also take a look at the "Networks" tab - so you can better control the campaign.
-
Geoff is correct; Adwords analyzes your ad group's keyword list when matching your keyword-targeted ads to the display network, thus no Keyword QS for Display. You will want to make sure that your keywords that you are using for Display are very related to each other and you are only using about 5 - 15 keywords per ad group, this will help to make sure your ads are appearing on relevant sites. If you are new to PPC I would highly recommend David Szetela book PPC an hour a Day. http://www.amazon.com/Pay-Click-Search-Engine-Marketing/dp/0470488670
This will walk you through all the current best strategies from the basics of setting up campaigns to more aggressive bid strategies. He also has another book that focus just on the best practices for Display advertising: http://www.amazon.com/Customers-Now-Profiting-Content-Based-Advertising/dp/1440170991/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1264017599&sr=8-2
These are some great resources to have in your toolbox to refer back to when you run into questions.
Good Luck
-
Interesting...so can such a campaign be optimized so that you pay less per click? Or is it all about overall CTR?
-
With the display network, Adwords analyzes your ad group's entire keyword list when matching your keyword-targeted ad to a Display Network page. This means the keyword doesn't get attributed QS or clicks.
Got a burning SEO question?
Subscribe to Moz Pro to gain full access to Q&A, answer questions, and ask your own.
Browse Questions
Explore more categories
-
Moz Tools
Chat with the community about the Moz tools.
-
SEO Tactics
Discuss the SEO process with fellow marketers
-
Community
Discuss industry events, jobs, and news!
-
Digital Marketing
Chat about tactics outside of SEO
-
Research & Trends
Dive into research and trends in the search industry.
-
Support
Connect on product support and feature requests.
Related Questions
-
AdWords Match rule for "&" and "and"
Howdy, folks 🙂 Here is a question - is there way to have an AdWords matching rule, which would cover both "&" and "and"? Here is an example - rule to match both "B & B" and "B and B". Any help appreciated 🙂
Paid Search Marketing | | DmitriiK0 -
Question regarding Google Adwords?
Just had a question regarding Google Adwords. I have an e-commerce store (kiwimodfurniture.com) in the furniture niche and I originally was planning to create a different ad group for each product. Since I have 1300 products I would have 1300 ad groups. However a lot of the products don't have enough search volume and Google won't display my ads. Then I decided to get a bit more broad. I plan on having an ad group for each sub category on my website. For example, modern lounge chairs, modern arm chairs, modern sofas, etc. Question: Is this too broad? Will the ROI be terrible because of this? Thanks!
Paid Search Marketing | | The_Kiwi_Man0 -
Importing Analytic goals into Adwords
My company is in the process of updating how we track conversions in Adwords and Analytics. One prgrammer suggested importing Analytic goals into the Adwords account. I am extremely hesitant to do that because I know that Analytics and Adwords don't always play nicely together. Does anyone have any experience (positive or negative) around this. Pros and cons? Should I keep the tracking separate? Also, FYI, our flow does not employ the traditional "thank you page" conversion model. We have java scripts and onload events that fire when goals are triggered. I am not a programmer so I am a little out of the loop on how it all works. All I know is that I want conversions/goals to be attributed to the correct channel. Help me mozzers!
Paid Search Marketing | | Vacatia_SEO0 -
Display advertising - targetting
I am looking into running adverts on the display network and see there is a range of options available for targetting potential customers I see that the list includes the following: 1 placement targeting 2 contextual targeting 3 interest category targeting 4 keyword targeting 5 demographic targeting Can anyone tell me what the best option or combination of this options is? The product I am selling is a weight loss product targeted at women. There are a few companies currently selling this product on the market and we are not the cheapest. I look forward to hearing from you. Regards Pete
Paid Search Marketing | | Hardley1110 -
World Localities in AdWords?
If I target the topic "World Localities>San Antonio", what type of sites my ads will be display? Are they sites about San Antonio, like tourism guides or event listings? Or are they related to San Antonio, like a university or flower shop in San Antonio?
Paid Search Marketing | | howlusa0 -
Why you should never use Google Adwords To Conduct Key Word Research
Buongiorno from 22 degrees C too damn humid Wetherby UK, The other day a client wanted to know how much a ppc campaign would cost with a specific bank of keywords. So off i went and loaded in the key words and set the ads thinking it was not live.... A week later i get a tap on the shoulder asking why weve been invoiced for £xxxx oh dio mio!! The damn campaign went to live. So ive got two questions: 1. Do Google adwords automatically go to Live once youve loaded up phrases and ads, i really thought it would have made it more obvious, A " Would you like your campaign to go live" prompt would have been appreciated. 2. As a safety measure is configuring a Google Alert in Analytics to ping when paid traffic is picked up not a bad idea just so ive got a warning sytem set up so to speak. Grazie tanto,
Paid Search Marketing | | Nightwing
David1 -
A question for Google Adwords experts
Hi Google Adwords experts, We own the trademarks to some keywords. When you search for these keywords, only our ads will ever appear but they don't appear every time a search is made. They're hardly ever appearing now that we've dropped our bid from $1+ to the minimum first page bid (1 cent in some cases). My question is; are the ads showing less because our bid has dropped so low? If so, why is this? If we own the trademark to the keyword and no one else can display ads, any bid that we submit should be accepted by Google, shouldn't it? If you can include a link to any articles that will give me more info, i'll vote for your answer. Thanks!
Paid Search Marketing | | HamiltonIsland0 -
How to set up Adwords Account for Keyword Research
Hello, At the advice of some knowledgable people around here, we are setting up a $200-$300 Adwords campaign to determine keyword research. Our site is already doing well but we want to make sure we are targeting all the appropriate terms. What do we need to keep in mind in setting up this campaign. I assume we would do some broad match terms with a bunch of negative matching. Thanks!
Paid Search Marketing | | BobGW0